The Hemorrhaging Edge

The moment I found out about publicly-available quantum computers, I wanted to use one. The notion of playing with electrons (I hope that’s not too technical for anyone) continues to boggle my mind, even though I have now done it.

I have programmatically, using QASM (Quantum Assembly Language), set electrons to their ground state, set one into a superposition, entangled that electron with another electron, and then measured both electrons to confirm the entanglement. I was as excited as an expecting father in a waiting room… for about half an hour.

While I still think the opportunity to play with electrons is awesome, it soon dawned on me that hundreds, maybe even thousands, have already done it. To them, I did absolutely nothing special. After all, this task is merely the “hello world” of quantum computing.

I have therefore decided to pursue a career in research. I’m not sure where to start, other than to approach universities with research departments. But, I really want the opportunity to do something, anything, that no one else has done before.

I’m calling this the “hemorrhaging edge.” The bleeding edge just isn’t good enough, and the leading edge doesn’t even warrant a discussion.

I’m interested in several fields, so any of them should do. They include Machine Learning, robotics, and now, quantum computing. And, if I could somehow combine them all together, that would be… optimal, pardon the pun (a bad attempt at a humorous optimization reference, sorry).

Leave a comment